Long Beach Collections

This collection contains 46 black-and-white photographs taken in the aftermath of an earthquake that hit near Long Beach, California in 1933; as well as a newspaper article from March 23, 2003 entitled "Inland Responded to 1933 Long Beach quake" by Joe Blackstock. Most of the images were taken in Santa Ana; Long Beach; and Compton, California.

This collection contains photographs, slides, and negatives. The content of the photographs are of California missions; Howard Hughes’ Spruce Goose; and from McClain's work as a staff photographer for the Long Beach Press Telegram, Los Angeles Mirror, and Los Angeles Times, as well as the Long Beach naval shipyard.

This collection includes negatives and photographic prints documenting the history of the Long Beach Fire Department. Included are images that focus on the department personnel, apparatus, fires, and fire prevention. Also included are images of an earthquake that hit Long Beach in 1933.  Browse Digitized Materials.

This collection consists primarily of the personal letters of Dorothy Lynch to her older sister, Faye Bell. The letters chronicle the lives of Dorothy Lynch and of her immediate family in Long Beach, California from 1926 to 1980. Along with correspondence, the collection also contains photographs and newspaper clippings.

This collection contains material related to Suzanne Roberts, a member of the Long Beach Chapter of National Organization for Women (NOW). The scrapbook is a celebration of Roberts' life as a teacher and activist and contains photographs mostly taken during demonstrations, marches, and rallies for the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA); as well as photographs of friends; staff and students of the Roosevelt School in Paramount, California; and childhood photographs. This scrapbook also contains clippings, flyers, and photographs regarding Roberts' Susan B. Anthony Award from NOW; obituaries and condolence messages; and ephemera related to NOW.