Skip to main content

Long Beach Collections at CSUDH

Collections in this guide contain material that relates to Long Beach history.

Long Beach Collections

The CSUDH Archives & Special Collections has several local history collections that contain materials featuring the Long Beach area. 

  • The Long Beach Fireman’s Historical Museum Photographs Collection (1840-1971) includes negatives and photographic prints documenting the history of the Long Beach Fire Department. Included are images that focus on the department personnel, apparatus, fires, and fire prevention. Also included are images of an earthquake that hit Long Beach in 1933.  
  • Hubert A. McClain Collection (1935-1973) contains photographs, slides, and negatives. The content of the photos are of California missions, Howard Hughes’ Spruce Goose; and from his work as a staff photographer for the Long Beach Press Telegram, Los Angeles Mirror, and Los Angeles Times, as well as the Long Beach naval shipyard.
  • The Lynch Family Letters Collection (1926-1980) consists primarily of the personal letters of Dorothy Lynch to her older sister, Faye Bell. The letters chronicle the lives of Dorothy Lynch and of her immediate family in Long Beach, California from 1926 to 1980. Along with correspondence, the collection also contains photographs and newspaper clippings.

Related Collections

Other collections that may be of interest when searching for materials related to Long Beach include:

Tradeswomen Archive Collections

Digital Collections

Images from the Collections

flyer from Tradeswomen Archive

Tradeswomen Archive

Photograph of Downtown Long Beach

Long Beach Fireman's Historical Museum Photographs Collection

typewritten letter from the Tradeswomen Archive

Tradeswomen Archive

Image of women in dresses in front of car, likely from the 1950s

Long Beach Fireman's Historical Museum Photographs Collection

illustrate dpostcard of buildings on Ocean Blvd in Long Beach, California

John H. Osborne Photograph Collection

Tent in forefront, dilapidated building in background

Long Beach Fireman's Historical Museum Photographs Collection