Background research is am important step for getting started with researching any topic, as well as to help make sense of the information you find throughout the research process. These types of sources can provide a brief summary of a topic, explain important theories, define commonly used terms, and provide biographical information on important people in the field.
This link opens in a new window
Articles, chapters, and reviewed essays from subject encyclopedias are particularly helpful for providing a snapshot of a specific topic. Some of these resources might be accessible online by providing your CSUDH username and password while others might be available as physical books to check out from the library. Just click the title to find out how to access each book!
Atlas of Asian-American History by
Featuring detailed maps and authoritative text, Atlas of Asian-American History offers an in-depth look at the political and social history of this diverse ethnic group. This important volume addresses an often-neglected area of our cultural studies, telling the story of not one group of people but many. Coverage includes: The Asian Heritage: The diversity of Asian culture; the geography of the many national and ethnic origins including India, China, Japan, Korea, and Southeast Asia The Chinese in Nineteenth-Century America: Regional origins of Chinese immigrants; Chinese miners in California; San Francisco's Chinatown; the Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882 Japanese, Korean, Filipino, and Asian Indian Immigration: The Hawaiian plantation system; Japanese and Koreans in Hawaii; Filipinos and Hawaii Labor Strife; the Picture Brides A Question of Citizenship: Anti-Japanese discrimination; the India Welfare League; Asian Americans and World War II; Pearl Harbor; Japanese Internment From Red Scare to Yellow Power: After Internment; a revolution in China; the McCarran-Walter Act; the Confession Program; Hawaii's statehood; the post-war boom Model Minorities and Refugees: The Redress Movement; Southeast Asian refugees and the demographic profile; new immigrants from India and Korea; anti-Asian violence; the Los Angeles riot of 1991 Asian America Today: "Model Minorities;" Asian-American health statistics; SAT scores; Asian-American culture.
Asian American Society by
Asian Americans are a growing, minority population in the United States. After a 46 percent population growth between 2000 and 2010 according to the 2010 Census, there are 17.3 million Asian Americans today. Yet Asian Americans as a category are a diverse set of peoples from over 30 distinctive Asian-origin subgroups that defy simplistic descriptions or generalizations. They face a wide range of issues and problems within the larger American social universe despite the persistence of common stereotypes that label them as a model minority for the generalized attributes offered uncritically in many media depictions. Asian American Society: An Encyclopediaprovides a thorough introduction to the wide ranging and fast developing field of Asian American studies. Published with the Association for Asian American Studies (AAAS), two volumes of the four-volume encyclopedia feature more than 300 A-to-Z articles authored by AAAS members and experts in the field who examine the social, cultural, psychological, economic, and political dimensions of the Asian American experience. The next two volumes of this work contain approximately 200 annotated primary documents, organized chronologically, that detail the impact American society has had on reshaping Asian American identities and social structures over time. Features: More than 300 articles authored by experts in the field, organized in A-to-Z format, help students understand Asian American influences on American life, as well as the impact of American society on reshaping Asian American identities and social structures over time. A core collection of primary documents and key demographic and social science data provide historical context and key information. A Reader's Guide groups related entries by broad topic areas and themes; a Glossary defines key terms; and a Resource Guide provides lists of books, academic journals, websites and cross references. The multimedia digital edition is enhanced with 75 video clips and features strong search-and-browse capabilities through the electronic Reader s Guide, detailed index, and cross references. Available in both print and online formats, this collection of essays is a must-have resource for general and research libraries, Asian American/ethnic studies libraries, and social science libraries."
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa by 
Encyclopedia of India
Home to a fifth of the world's population and the largest democracy in the world, India holds a prominent place in current events yet remains unknown or misunderstood by many people who seek a single, authoritative source for information on this political and economic dynamo. The Encyclopedia of India meets this need, encompassing the history, cultures, geography, and religions of India from ancient times to the present day. As India's role in global politics and economics continues to grow, readers will find the wide range and depth of information contained within this work an indispensable tool to gaining a solid appreciation of India and its place in our modern world.
Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Asia and Oceania by
Aus Wikipedia. Nicht dargestellt. Auszug: Rennertshofen is a municipality in the district of Neuburg-Schrobenhausen in Bavaria in Germany. ...http://booksllc.net/?l=de
Native Peoples of the World: an Encylopedia of Groups, Cultures and Contemporary Issues by
This work examines the world's indigenous peoples, their cultures, the countries in which they reside, and the issues that impact these groups.
Marxism, Modernity and Postcolonial Studies by
At a time when even much of the political left seems to believe that transnational capitalism is here to stay, Marxism, Modernity and Postcolonial Studies refuses to accept the inevitability of the so-called 'New World Order'. By giving substantial attention to topics such as globalisation, racism, and modernity, it provides a specifically Marxist intervention into postcolonial and cultural studies. An international team of contributors locate a common ground of issues engaging Marxist and postcolonial critics alike. Arguing that Marxism is not the inflexible, monolithic irrelevance some critics assume it to be, this collection aims to open avenues of debate - especially on the crucial concept of 'modernity' - which have been closed off by the widespread neglect of Marxist analysis in postcolonial studies. Politically focused, at times polemical and always provocative, this book is a major contribution to contemporary debates on literary theory, cultural studies, and the definition of postcolonial studies.
Asian Americans by
Authoritative, current, and accessible -- yet scholastically rigorous -- this anthology of personal stories, timely essays, social science readings, and informative educational resources provides a social, economic, and cultural overview of Asian Americans, relates the experiences of Asian Americans, and explores a variety of contemporary social issues deeply affecting Asian Americans. Designed to encourage readers to think critically about social issues facing Asian Americans, it implicitly advances a multi-cultural, comparative, interdisciplinary approach to viewing the Asian American experience, and exposes readers to major theoretical perspectives as well as the latest statistical data on Asian Americans. Offers a wide variety of content material from various political, social, and cultural viewpoints on major contemporary social issues facing Asian Americans -- all written by experts in their fields. Readings cover topic areas such as: Identity and Community in the Shaping of Asian Americans; Asian American History: An Overview; The Contemporary Demography and Socio-Economic Conditions of Asian Americans; Theories about Asian Americans and American Race and Ethnic Relations; Critical Perspectives of the Asian American Experience; Auto-Biographical Experiences of Asian American; Asian Pacific Communities -- Past and Present; Educational Issues; Employment and Occupation; Popular Culture, Imagery, and Stereotypes; Identity, Family, and Culture; Race, Gender, and Culture; Political Empowerment of Asian Americans; and Future Directions of Asian Americans Educational Resources. For anyone interested in the issues, history, and experiences of Asian Pacific Americans.
The Postcolonial and the Global by
This interdisciplinary work brings the humanities and social sciences into dialogue by examining issues such as globalized capital, discourses of antiterrorism, and identity politics. Essayists from the fields of postcolonial studies and globalization theory address the ethical and pragmatic ramifications of opposing interpretations of these issues and, for the first time, seek common ground. Contributors: Pal Ahluwalia, U of California, San Diego; Arjun Appadurai, New School U; Geoffrey Bowker, Santa Clara U; Timothy Brennan, U of Minnesota; Ruth Buchanan, U of British Columbia; Verity Burgmann, U of Melbourne; Pheng Cheah, U of California, Berkeley; Inderpal Grewal, U of California, Irvine; Ramon Grosfoguel, U of California, Berkeley; Barbara Harlow, U of Texas, Austin; Anouar Majid, U of New England; John McMurtry, U of Guelph; Walter D. Mignolo, Duke U; Sundhya Pahuja, U of Melbourne; R. Radhakrishnan, U of California, Irvine; Ileana Rodriguez, Ohio State U; E. San Juan, Philippine Forum, New York; Saskia Sassen, U of Chicago; Ella Shohat, New York U; Leslie Sklair, London School of Economics; Robert Stam, New York U; Madina Tlostanova, Russian Peoples' Friendship U; Harish Trivedi, U of Delhi. Revathi Krishnaswamy is associate professor of English at San Jose State University. John C. Hawley is professor and chair of English at Santa Clara University.
Ethnic Studies Research by
Study of ethnic groups and race relations have always existed in the academy, primarily in the areas of sociology and anthropology. However, grassroots movements for ethnic studies programs and departments came about with very different agendas for the study of these groups. It is surprising, then, that relatively few books devoted to these methods exist to document and promote this innovation among succeeding generations of graduate students, as well as current academics and professional practitioners. Ethnic Studies Research synthesizes and benchmarks ethnic studies methodologies as interdisciplinary modes of inquiry, providing state-of-the-art summary chapters on key methods and issues, extensive bibliographies, and promising new directions for the future.
The Inter-Asia Cultural Studies Reader by
Asian Cultural Studies or Cultural Studies in Asia is a new and burgeoning field, and the Inter-Asia Cultural Studies Journal is at its cutting edge. Committed to bringing Asian Cultural Studies scholarship to the international English speaking world and constantly challenging existing conceptions of cultural studies, the journal has emerged as the leading publication in Cultural Studies in Asia. The Inter-Asia Cultural Studies Reader brings together the best of the ground breaking papers published in the journal and includes a new introduction by the editors, Chen Kuan-Hsing and Chua Beng Huat. Essays are grouped in thematic sections, including issues which are important across the region, such as State violence and social movements and work produced by IACS sub-groups, such as feminism, queer studies, cinema studies and popular culture studies. The Reader provides useful alternative case studies and challenging perspectives, which will be invaluable for both students and scholars in media and cultural studies.
Asian American Studies Now by
Asian American Studies Now truly represents the enormous changes occurring in Asian American communities and the world, changes that require a reconsideration of how the interdisciplinary field of Asian American studies is defined and taught. This comprehensive anthology, arranged in four parts and featuring a stellar group of contributors, summarizes and defines the current shape of this rapidly changing field, addressing topics such as transnationalism, U.S. imperialism, multiracial identity, racism, immigration, citizenship, social justice, and pedagogy. Jean Yu-wen Shen Wu and Thomas C. Chen have selected essays for the significance of their contribution to the field and their clarity, brevity, and accessibility to readers with little to no prior knowledge of Asian American studies. Featuring both reprints of seminal articles and groundbreaking texts, as well as bold new scholarship, Asian American Studies Now addresses the new circumstances, new communities, and new concerns that are reconstituting Asian America.
Ancestry of Experience by
As Hawaiians continue to recover their language and culture, the voices of kupuna (elders) are heard once again in urban and rural settings, both in Hawai'i and elsewhere. How do kupuna create knowledge and "tell" history? What do they tell us about being Hawaiian? Adopted by a Midwestern couple in the 1950s as an infant, Leilani Holmes spent much of her early life in settings that offered no clues about her Hawaiian past--images of which continued to haunt her even as she completed a master's thesis on Hawaiian music and identity in southern California. Ancestry of Experience documents Holmes' quest to reclaim and understand her own origin story. Holmes writes in two different and at times incongruent voices--one describing the search for her genealogy, the other critiquing Western epistemologies she encounters along the way. In the course of her journey, she finds that Hawaiian oral tradition links identity to the land ('aina) through ancestry, while traditional, scholarly theories of knowing (particularly political economy and the discourse of the invention of tradition) textually obliterate land and ancestry. In interviews with kupuna, Holmes learns of the connectedness of spirituality and 'aina; through her study and practice of hula kahiko comes an understanding of ancient hula as a conversation between 'aina and the dancer's body that has the power to activate historical memory. Holmes' experience has special relevance for indigenous adoptees and indigenous scholars: Both are distanced from the knowledge agendas and strategies of their communities and are tasked to speak in languages ill-suited to the telling of their own stories and those of their ancestors. In addition to those with an interest in Hawaiian knowledge and culture, Ancestry of Experience will appeal to readers of memoirs of identity, academic and personal accounts of racial identity formation, and works of indigenous epistemologies. A website (www.ancestryofexperience.com) will include supplementary material.
Orientalism by
More than three decades after its first publication, Edward Said's groundbreaking critique of the West's historical, cultural, and political perceptions of the East has become a modern classic. In this wide-ranging, intellectually vigorous study, Said traces the origins of "orientalism" to the centuries-long period during which Europe dominated the Middle and Near East and, from its position of power, defined "the orient" simply as "other than" the occident. This entrenched view continues to dominate western ideas and, because it does not allow the East to represent itself, prevents true understanding. Essential, and still eye-opening, Orientalism remains one of the most important books written about our divided world.
Migration and Diaspora in Modern Asia by
Migration is at the heart of Asian history. For centuries migrants have tracked the routes and seas of their ancestors - merchants, pilgrims, soldiers and sailors - along the Silk Road and across the Indian Ocean and the China Sea. Over the last 150 years, however, migration within Asia and beyond has been greater than at any other time in history. Sunil S. Amrith's engaging and deeply informative book crosses a vast terrain, from the Middle East to India and China, tracing the history of modern migration. Animated by the voices of Asian migrants, it tells the stories of those forced to flee from war and revolution, and those who left their homes and their families in search of a better life. These stories of Asian diasporas can be joyful or poignant, but they all speak of an engagement with new landscapes and new peoples.
