Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gerth Archives & Special Collections: Home

Donald R. & Beverly J. Gerth Archives and Special Collections

The Gerth Archives & Special Collections at California State University Dominguez Hills University Library is home to the university archives, digital and special collections, rare books, and the archives of the California State University. 

Collection Highlights

Two men on top of building with downtown Los Angel

Mr. Takano

See more photographs from the Ninomiya Studio Collection in the California State University Japanese American Digitization Project.

Kumekichi Ishibashi with children.

Kumekichi Ishibashi with Children

Learn about the Ishibashi Family Collection from the collection's finding aid.

Bleriot Monoplane owned by Didier Masson - side view

1910 Air Meet Digital Collection

See more images from the 1910 Los Angeles International Air Meet held at the CSUDH campus.

Faculty protest photograph from the California State University System Archives

Faculty and Staff Demonstrations

Browse images and text in the California State University System Archives digitization project.

Albert McNeil Jubilee Singers US Tour

Albert J. McNeil Collection

Learn more about the Alfred J. McNeil Collection from the collection's finding aid.

African American female and male theatre troupe.

The Jokerettes Comedy Troupe

See more materials about the Watts Labor Community Action Committee in our digital collections.

Two women carrying wood beam.

Century Freeway Project

See more digital items from the Tradeswomen Archive in our digital collections. 

Group of people on a boat.

The Esperanto Movement

See over 400 books in our catalog written in or about the international language of Esperanto.

In the News

statue in front of CSUDH library

Gerth Archives Marks New Milestones in Documenting History

The CSUDH Gerth Archives and Special Collections, noted for its preservation of Southern California histories and cultures, has had three major developments toward its mission of making materials more accessible to the public.

Amalia Medina Castaneda

University Archivist Named Mellon Cultural Heritage Fellow

Amalia Medina Castañeda, university archivist at the California State University, Dominguez Hills Gerth Archives and Special Collections, has been selected as one of 15 Rare Book School-Mellon Cultural Heritage Fellows for 2022-2024.

Oral History

The Gerth Archives and Special Collections received funding from California Humanities and the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) to launch an Oral History program

The grant, which is part of the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021, allowed archivists from the department to attend an Oral History workshop and begin conducting Oral History interviews with CSUDH community members.

ARTchivist's Notebook

Seeing Ourselves In Archives On Giving Away Auntie's Things

Sharon Mizota recently wrote a newsletter about donating her aunt’s collection to the CSU Japanese American Digitization Project. Sharon Mizota, is the author of ARTchivist’s Notebook, an occasional newsletter musing on the intersection of archives, art, and social justice.

University Archivist

Interview at the Library: Meet University Archivist Amalia Castañeda

For the first installment of the Interview at the Library series, Amalia Castañeda, University Archivist at California State University, Dominguez Hills, Gerth Archive and Special Collections, describes her role and goals for the future of the University Archives.

More Archives News →

LA Free Press

Gerth Archives and Special Collections Acquires L.A. Free Press Archive

The Gerth Archives and Special Collections recently acquired the archive of the L.A. Free Press, one of the first underground newspapers in the U.S. which gave voice to the counterculture movement and Black, Chicano, LGBTQ and leftist communities.

CSU Japanese American Digitization Project (CSUJAD) Wins National Award from the Society of American Archivists (SAA)

The CSUDH Gerth Archives and Special Collections’ California State University Japanese American Digitization Project (CSUJAD) has been awarded the 2021 Philip M. Hamer and Elizabeth Hamer Kegan Award from the Society of American Archivists (SAA) in recognition of the project's scope and success.

Aiko Herzig Yoshinaga

Civil Liberties Icons Fred Korematsu and Aiko Herzig Yoshinaga Archival Material Now Available in the CSU Japanese American Digitization Project

The materials of Fred Korematsu (1919-2005) and Aiko Herzig Yoshinaga (1925-2018), two giants in terms of resistance to Japanese American incarceration during World War II and activists in the later redress movement, are now accessible on The California State University Japanese American Digitization (CSUJAD) digital database at http://csujad.com.

Subdivision exhibit

New Archives Exhibit: “perpetual and binding forever": Race and the Creation of a Los Angeles Subdivision

In observation of Black History Month, a new digital exhibit in the Gerth Archives & Special Collections illustrates how developers of a small West Los Angeles subdivision were forced to become essentially the weaponized arm of the government's racist attitudes.

Black power exhibition

New Archives Exhibit: Black Power: Selections from the Gerth Archives at CSU Dominguez Hills

The exhibit, which comprises facsimiles of material from the Holt Labor Library collection, is now on view at Page Against the Machine bookstore in Long Beach, CA until June 2021, as well as online via the Gerth Archives and Special Collections website.

Archives exhibit featured in SAA Newsletter

An article detailing the transition of the Gerth Archives' exhibit "Will the Circle Be Unbroken?" from a physical space to an online platform has been published in Performance!, the Society of American Archivists Performing Arts newsletter. The article was written by Music Archivist Beth McDonald, who curated the physical exhibit and developed the online version.

Exhibit: "100 Years of the Women's Vote"

The Gerth Archives and Special Collections and the Department of Women's Studies presents the new student-created exhibit "100 Years of the Women's Vote," honoring the 100-year anniversary of the 19th Amendment.