Skip to Main Content

Gerth Archives & Special Collections: Home

Donald R. & Beverly J. Gerth Archives and Special Collections

Welcome to the Gerth Archives

We welcome all to research and explore our collections. We are located in University Library South 5039 on the fifth floor. The closest parking is Parking Lot #6. Below are just a few of the services we offer to students, faculty, and the public. Explore our options below to schedule an appointment or visit us for a walk-in at any time during our hours of operation.

Hours of Operation

Monday-Friday: 9am-12pm, 1pm-4:30pm
We stop paging material at 4pm

Contact Information
Email: archives@csudh.edu
Telephone: (310) 243-3895

Class Instruction Icon

Class
Instruction
Reading Room Appointment Icon

Reading Room Appointment
Student Research Consultation Icon

Student Research Consultation
exhibition tour Icon

Exhibition
Tours

Collection Highlights

Two men on top of building with downtown Los Angel

Mr. Takano

See more photographs from the Ninomiya Studio Collection in the California State University Japanese American Digitization Project.

Kumekichi Ishibashi with children.

Kumekichi Ishibashi with Children

Learn about the Ishibashi Family Collection from the collection's finding aid.

Bleriot Monoplane owned by Didier Masson - side view

1910 Air Meet Digital Collection

See more images from the 1910 Los Angeles International Air Meet held at the CSUDH campus.

Faculty protest photograph from the California State University System Archives

Faculty and Staff Demonstrations

Browse images and text in the California State University System Archives digitization project.

Albert McNeil Jubilee Singers US Tour

Albert J. McNeil Collection

Learn more about the Alfred J. McNeil Collection from the collection's finding aid.

African American female and male theatre troupe.

The Jokerettes Comedy Troupe

See more materials about the Watts Labor Community Action Committee in our digital collections.

Two women carrying wood beam.

Century Freeway Project

See more digital items from the Tradeswomen Archive in our digital collections. 

Group of people on a boat.

The Esperanto Movement

See over 400 books in our catalog written in or about the international language of Esperanto.

Student Opportunities

The CSUDH Gerth Archives and Special Collections offers volunteer, internship and work opportunities for students interested in various aspects of archival work including processing, describing and digitizing collections, and exhibition curation and research. Learn more.

In the News

Our Memory Our Stories: Histories of a Multicultural LA

This panel of Black and Latinx librarians, curators and scholars will highlight how they expose unknown histories through their scholarly and professional work. They will discuss how they engage with audiences and ensure their stories are accurately and respectfully preserved. They seek to empower students to take "history-making" into their own hands.

Gerth Archives Event Schedule- Join the Gerth Archives and Special Collections in Celebrating Archives Month!

Join the Gerth Archives and Special Collections in Celebrating Archives Month 2024!

The Gerth Archives and Special Collections is celebrating Archives Month with three events!

Wednesday, October 9: Intro to the LA Free Press and Meditation Video with Art Kunkin 

Wednesday, October 16 #Ask An Archivist Day Open House and Rare Book Room Tour 

Saturday, October 19 Archives Bazaar at USC 

Monday, October 21-Friday, October 25 Color the Archives

Pamphlets in a boxes with titles, Spanish Civil War, Women, Asian American, Asia, LGBTQ, and Latinx.

Greg Williams, Director of the Gerth Archives and Special Collections, provides an overview of activist collections at the Gerth Archives

Greg Williams, Director of the Gerth Archives and Special Collections, recently presented at a virtual event co-sponsored by the Bibliographical Society (UK), Bibliographical Society of American, and the Bibliographical Society of Canada in a presentation recorded as part of the "Documenting Social Movement: Bibliography, Archives and Protest."

statue in front of CSUDH library

Gerth Archives Marks New Milestones in Documenting History

The CSUDH Gerth Archives and Special Collections, noted for its preservation of Southern California histories and cultures, has had three major developments toward its mission of making materials more accessible to the public.

The 1949 installation of officers of Legionarios Del Trabajo, one of the oldest and most distinguished Filipino-American organizations in the nation.

CSUDH Launches New Filipino American Digital Archive (FADA)

On Saturday, March 5, leaders of the Filipino community and local dignitaries will join California State University, Dominguez Hills (CSUDH) faculty and representatives of the university’s Gerth Archives and Special Collections to celebrate the launch of the CSUDH Filipino American Digital Archive (FADA). The event, which will take place from 1 to 2 p.m. in the Archives on the fifth floor of the CSUDH University Library, will double as a chance for members of the local Filipino American community to bring in their own materials to add to the archive.

ARTchivist's Notebook

Seeing Ourselves In Archives On Giving Away Auntie's Things

Sharon Mizota recently wrote a newsletter about donating her aunt’s collection to the CSU Japanese American Digitization Project. Sharon Mizota, is the author of ARTchivist’s Notebook, an occasional newsletter musing on the intersection of archives, art, and social justice.