LibGuides: Dance: Getting started

Best Bets for Dance Research

If you have tried searching in OneSearch, but aren't finding what you need, you may need to use a subject database. When you are researching dance topics at CSUDH, the subject databases you have access to cover more than just dance. Below you will find some general humanities databases that include articles on dance. Also listed in a database with useful information on writing about dance performances.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window Core journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics. Includes some primary sources and book reviews. A great place to find older, digitized issues. Recent issues are not always available in JSTOR.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Search for articles, many of which are available full-text, in the fields of drama, music, art history and film.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window Full text journals and books in the social sciences and humanities. Great for literature, history, gender studies, and ethnic studies research.
Humanities (Full Text) This link opens in a new window Use this database to find full-text articles from humanities disciplines including history, literature, art history, philosophy, film studies, and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
If you can't find what you are looking for in the subject databases, you can try a more general database like Google Scholar.