Skip to main content

Japanese American/Peruvian Collections

at California State University Dominguez Hills

Selected Images

Granada pioneer, vol. 1, no. 69 (May 29, 1943)

Donald Teruo Hata and Nadine Ishitani Hata Asian Pacific Studies Collection, Incarceration Camp Newsletters

An issue from a camp newspaper, "Granada pioneer," vol. 1, no. 69 published in the Granada incarceration camp in Amache, Colorado on May 29, 1943.

Granada pioneer, vol. 1, no. 65 (June 21, 1944)

Donald Teruo Hata and Nadine Ishitani Hata Asian Pacific Studies Collection, Incarceration Camp Newsletters

An issue from a camp newspaper, "Granada pioneer," vol. 1, no. 65 published in the Granada incarceration camp in Amache, Colorado on June 21, 1944. 

Crystal City times (January 21, 1946)

Donald Teruo Hata and Nadine Ishitani Hata Asian Pacific Studies Collection, Incarceration Camp Newsletters

An issue from an interment camp newspaper, "Crystal City times," published in the Crystal City Internment Camp in Crystal City, Texas on January 21, 1946. 

Henry Fukuhara Manazanar 2001 Watercolor Workshop

Henry Fukuhara Paint-Out Collection

An invitation card to Stary-Sheets Fine Art Galleries where Henry Fukuhara's paintings were exhibited. 

Journey lesson handout

Henry Fukuhara Paint-Out Collection

Lesson handout for a watercolor workshop with Henry Fukuhara held in May 2002. 

Nisei solders on military vehicle

Henry Y. Ikemoto Collection

A photograph of Nisei soldiers sitting on a vehicle and a chair outside, 1944.

Kumekichi Ishibashi with children

Ishibashi Collection

A photograph from the Ishibashi family photo album. Kimekichi Ishibashi stands to the far left with six children. Masaichi Ishibashi, his eldest son is standing on the far right, 1944. 

Sports team

Yukio Mochizuki Collection

A photograph of members of soccer and baseball teams, including Japanese internees as well as Caucasian internees, possibly Italian and German internees, presumably at the Crystal City Internment Camp, circa 1942-1948.

Goerge Naohara at the Manzanar incarceration camp

George and Mitzi Naohara Papers

A photograph of George Nobuo Naohara posing at the Manzanar incarceration camp in California, 1942.

Female children at the Jerome incarceration camp

George and Mitzi Naohara Papers

A photograph of young female children, including Emiko Sasaki, incarcerated at the Jerome camp in Denson, Arkansas, circa 1942-1945.  

Volunteers from Jerome to Tule Lake

George and Mitzi Naohara Papers

A photograph of volunteers on the train being transferred from the Jerome camp in Denson, Arkansas to the Tule Lake Segregation Center in Newell, California, 1944.

Mitzi Masukawa Naohara

George and Mitzi Naohara Papers

A photographed of Mitzi Masukawa Naohara in the 1950s. 

 

Far East Café

Ninomiya Studio Collection

A photograph of the interior of Far East Cafe' during Nisei Week, featuring Kinso Ninomiya and possibly members of Nisei Week Court, August 23, 1949.

Portrait of little girls in kimono

Ninomiya Studio Collection

A portrait of Japanese female children in kimonos taken at the Ninomiya Studio in Little Tokyo, Los Angeles, 1950.

Tule Lake rooftops

Toshio Oku Photo Album

A photograph looking across rooftops of buildings at the Tule Lake camp towards hills in the distance, circa 1942-1946.

Manuel E. Ikari at Seabrook farms

Yukio Mochizuki Collection

A photograph of men in Seabrook Farms. Includes Manuel E. Ikari, who was Peruvian Japanese and incarcerated in the Department of Justice Internment Camp during World War II, February 2, 1948.

 

Letters from Kumaji and Tsuruno Meguro to Fumio and Yoneko Takano

Takano Family Papers

Letters from Kumaji and Tsuruno Meguro to Fumio and Yoneko Takano, 1942-1945

 

Bishop Matsukage

Tazu Kawamoto Photo Album

A photograph of Bishop Matsukage along with a procession on Buddhist Day on Treasure Island near San Francisco, April 2, 1939.

Collection Descriptions

Collections are listed in the five categories and links to finding aids and digitized materials are attached:

  1. Japanese American Incarceration Experience
  2. Japanese American Military Experience
  3. Early Settlement and California’s Alien Land Act
  4. Post World War II
  5. Japanese Peruvian Internment 

 

Aiko Herzig-Yoshinaga Papers: Manzanar; Jerome; Rohwer: Browse digitized materials

Akamine and Fuchita Family Papers: Manznar; Rohwer: Browse digitized materials

Atsushi Art Ishida CollectionSanta Anita Assembly Center; Jerome Incarceration Camp; Tule Lake Segregation Center; Minidoka Incarceration Camp: Browse digitized materials

Donald Teruo Hata and Nadine Ishitani Hata Asian Pacific Studies Collection: the materials accumulated by Dr. Donald T. Hata for research projects and publications focus on the forced evacuation and incarceration of people of the Japanese ancestry during World War II. The following collections were derived from this collection and digitized items are available: 

Emma Lena Smith DiariesBrowse digitized materials.  

Fred Bradford Manzanar CollectionBrowse digitized materials. 

George Nakano Family Papers: Jerome; Tule Lake: Browse digitized materials. 

George and Mitzi Naohara Papers: consist of photo albums, scrapbook, and documents pertaining to the Naohara family, including Kibei Nisei husband, Nisei wife, and Issei parents, who were incarcerated in the camps during World War II. Manzanar; Jerome; Tule Lake: Browse digitized materials.

Gingo Tanaka Papers: Gila Rivers: Browse digitized materials.

Glenn M. Anderson Papers: Browse digitized materials.

Heart Mountain SentinelBrowse digitized materials.

Henry Fukuhara Paint-Out Collection: contains photographs and notes from Henry Fukuhara’s Manzanar Workshops in which he painted for and instructed other painters on his watercolor techniques. Browse digitized materials

Hiroshi Fukuwa Manzanar Diary: Manzanar; Gila Rivers; Tule Lake: Browse digitized materials.

Itsuhei Takano Camp Journal: Browse digitized materials.

Ishibashi Family PapersBrowse digitized materials.

J. Ralph McFarling Collection: contains materials generated by J. Ralph McFarling documenting the Amache incarceration camp in Granada, Colorado during World War II. The collection includes a memoir titled The Day the Ban was Lifted by McFarling describing conditions in the camp, weekly reports to the War Relocation Administration, and letters from former prisoners who discuss their resettlement throughout the United States. Browse digitized materials.

James H. Osborne Nisei Collection: contains correspondence between the Terada family, incarcerees in the Rohwer incarceration camp, McGehee Arkansas, and the Thomas family in Lawndale, California, and photographs taken during the incarceration. Browse digitized materials

Japanese American History Collection: 

Jim and Eric Saito Family Collections: Browse digitized materials.

Jimmy Fukuhara Manzanar Camp Collection: Browse digitized materials.

Kiyoshi Uyekawa Family PapersBrowse digitized materials.

Kuromi Photo Albums: Browse digitized materials.

Kuwahara Family Papers: Browse digitized materials.

Maeda Family Heart Mountain Photo Album: Heart Mountain; Santa Fe Internment Camp Browse digitized materials.

Manzanar Photo Album: Browse digitized materials.

Mcfarling, J. Ralph Collection: Browse digitized materials.

Okine Family Papers: includes correspondence, photographs, and financial documents of Issei flower growers in California, who were forced to evacuate and incarcerated in the camp during the war. Browse digitized materials.

Owen M. Sylvester Tule Lake Photograph Collection​: contains photographs taken by Captain Owen M. Sylvester while at Tule Lake Segregation Center during a military occupation as a member of the 772 Military Police Battalion in 1943. Browse digitized materials.

Rancho San Pedro CollectionBrowse digitized materials.

Sumi Family Manzanar Photographs: Browse digitized materials.

Takahashi Family Collection: Browse digitized materials.

Takano Family Papers: consist of correspondence, photographs, camp newspapers, yearbooks and other documents, covering from prewar through post-war, including the period of the forced evacuation and incarceration during the war and the redress movement in 1980s. Pomona Assembly Center; Santa Anita Assembly Center; Gila River camp; Heart Mountain camp. Browse digitized materials.

Tazu Kawamoto Photo Album Collection: one photo album including photographs taken inside the Gila River incarceration camp in Arizona, and a photograph of dentists at the Rivers Community Hospital. Browse digitized materials

Terminal Island/Port of Los Angeles: Browse digitized materials.

Tomoji Wada Family Papers: Poston: Browse digitized materials.

Toshio Oku Photo Album: a collection of Tule Lake incarceration camp photos. The album includes photos of a fire, the Electrical Department, and the print shop of the Newell Star. Tule Lake: Browse digitized materials.

Tsugitada Kanamori Collection​: contains correspondence, memorandums, and other material regarding Kanamori’s life during and directly after World War II. The collection details Kanamori’s efforts to cancel his renunciation and reinstate his American citizenship. Browse digitized materials.

Tsuyoshi Roy Nakai CollectionBrowse digitized materials.

Virginia B. Lowers CollectionBrowse digitized materials.

Atsushi Art Ishida Collection: Korean War. Browse digitized materials

Henry Ikemoto Collection: documents the participation of Japanese American soldiers in WWII as part of the 100th Infantry Battalion/442nd Infantry Regimental Combat Team. The collection includes letters and photographs depicting the daily lives of Japanese American soldiers in Italy, 1944. Browse digitized materials

Okine Family Papers: contains photos, letters, and other documents pertaining to US Army Nisei soldiers who were deployed in Italy during the war and stationed in Japan during the Allied occupation. Browse digitized materials

George and Mitzi Naohara Papers: contains photographs of George Naohara, a Kibei Nisei soldier, during his time in the U.S Army Language School and the Korean War. Browse digitized materials

Ted Kihara Photograph Collectioncontains 35 mm slides and negatives and photographs of events and activities from Ted Kihara’s life. Kihara was assigned to the Allied Translator and Interpreter Section (ATIS) and stationed in Tokyo, Japan during the Allied occupation of Japan, and the collection includes negatives taken during Kihara’s time in Japan. Browse digitized materials.

Dale Ann Sato Collection: contains research materials and oral history interviews gathered by Dale Ann Sato, a historian and educator. The collection documents early Japanese settlement in the Los Angeles area, farm production in California during the early 1900s, land layout of the South Bay region with focus on the Palos Verdes Peninsula, and the treatment of Japanese immigrants and Japanese American citizens following the Pearl Harbor attack in 1941.   

Del Amo Estate Company Collection: contains documentation to comply with California’s Alien Land Act when the company leased land to Japanese American tenants. The collection also includes correspondence related to the Japanese American tenants who were affected by the forced evacuation and incarceration during World War II.

Ishibashi Family Collection: documents personal and business records of Ishibashi family, one of the pioneer Japanese farmers on the coastline of Palos Verdes Peninsula, California. The collection includes photographs and moving images of the hilltop farm communities in the 1930s, tax documents, lease contracts and business related records of 1910-1945. Browse digitized materials.

Kiyoko Maeda Yoshioka Family Photographs: Browse digitized materials

Mike Hiranuma Family Photographs: Browse digitized materials

Rancho San Pedro Collectiondocuments the history and development of the Rancho San Pedro, one of the original Spanish California land grants. Throughout the first half of the twentieth century, the Rancho leased land to a number of tenants of Japanese and Chinese descent. The collection includes leases and papers related to legal issues facing these tenants, most notably the 1913 California Alien Land Act, and the incarceration of Japanese American tenants during World War II. Browse digitized materials.

Tazu Kawamoto Photo AlbumBrowse digitized materials

Wada Family Photographs: Browse digitized materials

Aiko Herzig-Yoshinaga Papers: NCRR. Browse digitized materials.

CSU Nisei Diploma Project: 

CSUDH Japanese Garden Collection: 

Ninomiya Studio Collectioncontains photographs from the Ninomiya Photography Studio that was located in the Little Tokyo district of downtown Los Angeles, California. The images document the Japanese American community in the aftermath of World War II, including family and individual portraits, passport photographs, the architecture of Los Angeles and Little Tokyo, parades in Little Tokyo, community groups and activities, the military, church and Buddhist temple groups, beauty queen contestants, women in traditional Japanese clothing, sporting events, weddings and funerals. Browse digitized materials.

Warren Furutani CollectionWarren Furutani was a civil rights activist and the first Asian Pacific Islander American to ever be elected to the Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) Board of Education, and served as a member of the California State Assembly for the 55th District. The collection is comprised of legislative bills, awards, photographs, videos, campaign mail, newspaper articles, and constituent correspondence providing an in depth look at Furutani’s legislative activities during his tenure in the California State Senate.

Crystal City Japanese Peruvian Internees Letters: contains letters written by a Japanese Peruvian family interned at the Crystal City internment camp, Texas, to their mother/grandmother who remained in Lima, Peru. Browse digitized materials

Colonisation Japonaise au Perou: a photo album depicts the lives of the Japanese Peruvians in 1930-1950. Browse digitized materials

Yukio Mochizuki Collection: contains research materials on the Japanese Peruvian internment during World War II, which were collected by Yukio Mochizuki, a student at CSUDH. Browse digitized materials

  1. Aiko Herzig-Yoshinaga Papers
  2. Akamine and Fuchita Family Papers 
  3. Atsushi Art Ishida Collection
  4. Blue Circles and Friends; Komai Family Slides
  5. Crystal City Japanese Peruvian Internees Letters
  6. Collection of Japanese American Community Organizations’ Publications
  7. Collection of Japanese Language School Textbooks
  8. Colonisation Japonaise au Perou
  9. CSU Nisei Diploma Project
  10. CSUDH Japanese Garden Material
  11. CSUDH Oral Histories
  12. Dale Ann Sato Collection
  13. Del Amo Estate Company Collection
  14. Donald Teruo Hata and Nadine Ishitani Hata Asian Pacific Studies Collection:
  1. Emma Lena Smith Diaries  
  2. Fred Bradford Manzanar Collection
  3. Gardena Japanese Cultural Show Photograph Albums
  4. Gardena Valley Japanese Cultural Institute
  5. George and Mitzi Naohara Papers
  6. George Nakano Family Papers 
  7. Gingo Tanaka Papers
  8. Girda Magazines
  9. Glenn M. Anderson Papers
  10. Heart Mountain Sentinel
  11. Henry Fukuhara Collection
  12. Henry Fukuhara Family Collection
  13. Henry Fukuhara Paint-Out Collection 
  14. Henry Ikemoto Collection
  15. Hideyuki and Betty (Tanji) Takamori Family Papers
  16. Hiroshi Fukuwa Manzanar Diary
  17. Ikemi Family Photographs
  18. Ishibashi Family Collection
  19. Itsuhei Takano Camp Journal
  20. Iwasaki Family Photographs
  21. J. Ralph McFarling Collection
  22. James H. Osborne Nisei Collection
  23. Japanese American History Collection
  24. Jim and Eric Saito Family Collections
  25. Jim Matsuoka NCCR Collection
  26. Jimmy Fukuhara Manzanar Camp Collection
  27. Kawagoye Collection of Postcards
  28. Kiyoko Maeda Yoshioka Family Photographs
  29. Kiyoshi Uyekawa Family Papers
  30. Kobata Family Photographs
  31. Kuromi Photo Albums
  32. Kuwahara Family Papers
  33. Maeda Family Heart Mountain Photo Album
  34. Manzanar Photo Album
  35. Masajiro and Sugi Kotake Family Papers
  36. Masaru Fujiwara Collection
  37. Masumoto and Saito Family Photographs
  38. Mcfarling, J. Ralph Collection
  39. Mike Hiranuma Family Photographs
  40. Minidoka Incarceration Camp Photo Album
  41. Misao Okada Album
  42. Nanka Fukushima Kenjinkai Collection
  43. Nanka Miyagi Kenjinkai Collection
  44. Natsumeda Family Granada Camp Collection
  45. Ninomiya Exhibit Collection
  46. Ninomiya Studio Collection
  47. Nisei Week Programs
  48. Okine Family Papers  ​
  49. Owen M. Sylvester Tule Lake Photograph Collection​
  50. Paul Junji Toshima Collection
  51. Rancho San Pedro Collection
  52. Roy Y. Nakano NCCR
  53. Sakimoto Family Papers
  54. Santa Monica Nikkei Hall Records
  55. Southern California Gardeners Federation Records
  56. Sumi Family Manzanar Photographs
  57. Takahashi Family Collection
  58. Takano Family Papers
  59. Tazu Kawamoto Photo Album Collection 
  60. Ted Kihara Photograph Collection
  61. Terminal Island: an Island in Time
  62. Terminal Island/Port of Los Angeles
  63. Tomoji Wada Family Papers
  64. Toshio Oku Photo Album
  65. Tsugitada Kanamori Collection​
  66. Tsuyoshi Roy Nakai Collection
  67. Udo and Takami Family Papers
  68. Virginia B. Lowers Collection
  69. Warren Furutani Collection
  70. Yetsuko Kiyomi Photo Album
  71. Yoneguma Takahashi Photo Album
  72. Wada Family Photographs

Related Resources

California State University Japanese American Digitization Project (CSUJAD):provides access to digital collection generated by a consortium of California State University Archives, and expanding group of partners from other institutional archives, libraries, museums, and cultural heritage organizations, including documents, oral histories, photographs, and other archival materials relating to the history of Japanese Americans.

Gripsholm Exchanges: contains a manuscript/memoir written by Atsushi Archi Miyamoto on the diplomatic exchanges between the United States and Japan (1942-1943) known as The Gripsholm Exchanges. This document reflects upon and shares personal hardships experienced by detainees during World War II.