Collection Descriptions
B-E Collection: Lesbians & their Careers, 2021-2023
This collection contains an ongoing series of oral history interviews of lesbians talking about their lives and includes discussions regarding childhood, family, careers and other employment opportunities, lesbian relationships and experiences with coming out, education, gender and sexual identity, friendships, hobbies, and other topics; as well as experiences with discrimination, sexual harassment, activism, affirmative action, and equal opportunity. Browse digitized collection.
Drag Performance & Cross-Dressing resources collection, 1972-2005
This collection contains event flyers, programs, postcards, and ticket stubs mostly related to drag performance events, as well as a few flyers regarding cross-dressing support services. Included is material related to San Francisco's Imperial Court and founder, Jose Sarria- Empress I; Shirley Empress de San Francisco III; Collette LeGrande, Countess of San Francisco; Cockatielia for Empress; Angelina Josephina Manicotti for Grand Duchess; and others; as well as two postcards and a flyer related to the Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence, Inc.; and material for other events. Browse digitized collection.
Feminist Resources Collection 1895-2022, undated
This collection contains eight boxes of publications, pamphlets, essays, flyers, speeches, ephemera, and other material regarding feminism; and feature topics centered around women's rights, news, and events.
Hensley (David) LGBT magazine collection, 1953-2014
This collection consists of magazines, journals, and other material devoted to the gay and lesbian community. Included this collection are ONE Magazine and other publications of ONE, Inc., Mattachine Review, Tangents, and the Daughters of Bilitis publication, The Ladder, and other publications. Most were a part of the personal collection of David Hensley (b.1941), a lifetime resident of Los Angeles County. Hensley was a school librarian and teacher before retiring in 2001.
LGBTQ publications collection, 1935-2022
Publications dedicated to LGBTQ communities and issues have been in existence since the early twentieth century, but started to become more prevalent in the 1960s-1970s when there was an increase of activism and visibility in regard to the LGBTQ community. This collection, which spans decades, contains a wide variety of material devoted to the LGBTQ community from more prominent publications to lesser known and more obscure publications.
Ace Lundon Collection, 1862-2013
Ace Lundon, previously named Adrian Raymond Lundberg, was born on August 1, 1936 in South Dakota. In 1974, he married actress Jean London but later divorced in 1974. Two years later, he was partnered with Patrick Algarin. The Ace Lundon Collection includes writings, letters, photographs, videotapes, posters, drawings, audiotapes, and ephemera from the Ace Lundon Estate. The majority of the collection contains material regarding Ace Lundon's life as an actor, singer, writer, and businessman. This series contains 14 boxes of materials related to Ace Lundon's personal life, such as materials that were owned by Ace Lundon, Patrick Algarin, and the Lundberg Family such as a diary, letters, cassettes, floppy disks, CDs, photographs, and legal documents.
Male and Female Impersonators Sheet Music Collection, 1906-1922
This collection contains six pieces of sheet music featuring images of male and female impersonator vaudeville acts.
National Association of Black and White Men papers, 1982-2006
This collection contains meeting minutes; by-laws; strategic plan; chapter development manual; correspondence; memorandums; financial statements; resources lists; and newsletter issues of the National Association of Black and White Men Together. The National Association of Black and White Men Together (NABWMT) was a gay, multiracial, multicultural organization committed to fostering supportive environments wherein racial and cultural barriers can be overcome and the goal of human equality realized. The NABWMT is a collective nationwide network of affiliated and developing chapters in cities that identify themselves as Black and White Men Together (BWMT), Men of All Colors Together (MACT), or People of All Colors Together (PACT) in keeping with the cultural dynamics of their respective areas.
ONE Archives Ephemera Collection, 1952-2020; undated
This collection contains two boxes of materials related to the events hosted by and held at the ONE Archives. Such events include music festivals, literary events, and events regarding activism. Materials from the event include brochures, inventory pages, staff listings, website pages, flyers, booklets, emails, and postcards. Also included in this collection is one series of publications containing magazines and newsletters about and by the ONE Archives including: "IGLA Bulletin", "ONE Calendar", "On the Purple Circuit", and "ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives Newsletter".
Pansy Division (rock band) ephemera collection, 2000-2013
This collection contains 37 flyers and one sticker regarding the gay rock band, "Pansy Division." Pansy Division formed in 1991 in San Francisco, CA as one of the first openly gay bands. As of 2022, they have released seven studio albums and have played close to 1,000 shows. Browse digitized collection.
"Photos, Catalina Island, Cal," circa 1908
This collection contains one photograph album entitled "Photos, Catalina Island, Cal." The album contains fourteen black-and-white photographs and one postcard featuring images presumably taken on Santa Catalina Island of women cross-dressing and dressed in costumes and menswear; as well as portrait style images, and a picture of women sitting under a parasol. Also included is one Santa Catalina Island souvenir postcard dated 1908. Browse digitized collection.
Price (Vivian) collection, 1970-2014
This collection documents the academic and professional life of Dr. Vivian Price, a political scientist, videographer, and union electrician, who has played an active role in the labor and non-traditional women's occupation movement in Los Angeles. Materials include legal and business papers, labor union records, professional organization and conference materials, correspondence, newsletters, press releases, newspaper clippings, ephemera, lectures, miscellaneous academic papers, photographs, and videotapes. Browse digitized collection.
Transgender resources collection, 1994-2019
This collection contains flyers, programs, informational resources, and a zine regarding support groups, organizations, and events by and for transgender people; as well as material related to topics such as healthcare and gender identity. Browse digitized collection.
Williams (Pat) collection, 1895-2019
This collection documents the academic and professional life of Pat Williams, a former union operating engineer and an advocate for women in trades. Materials in this collection include correspondence, personal papers, materials related to International Union of Operating Engineers (IUOE), newsletters, magazines and other documents collected from trades unions, materials concerning career development, materials regarding events and conferences, photographs, videocassettes, and ephemera. Browse digitized collection.
Zine Collection, 1980, 1981-1984, 1990-2023; undated
This collection contains issues of zines topics such as: skateboarding, art, photography, music, activism, LGBTQ issues, feminism, gender identity, fandom, Japanese American history, race, culture, women's history, and other topics.
Selected Books
Bodies and Barriers by
The contributors to Bodies and Barriers look for tangible improvements, drawing from the history of HIV/AIDS in the U.S. and from struggles against health care bias and discrimination. At a galvanising moment when LGBT people have experienced great strides in lived equality, but our health as a community still lags, here is an indispensable blueprint for change by some of the most passionate and important health activists in the LGBT movement today.
Call Number: SpCol HQ73 .B62 2020ISBN: 9781629637846Publication Date: 2020-03-01
Gender Queer: a Memoir by
In 2014, Maia Kobabe, who uses e/em/eir pronouns,thought that a comic of reading statistics would be the last autobiographicalcomic e would ever write. At the time, it was the only thing e felt comfortablewith strangers knowing about em. Now, Gender Queer is here. Maia's intenselycathartic autobiography charts eir journey of self-identity, which includes themortification and confusion of adolescent crushes, grappling with how to comeout to family and society, bonding with friends over erotic gay fanfiction, andfacing the trauma and fundamental violation of pap smears. Started as a way to explain to eir family what it means to be nonbinary and asexual, Gender Queer is more than a personal story: it is a useful and touching guide on genderidentity--what it means and how to think about it--for advocates,friends, and humans everywhere.
Call Number: SpCol HQ77.8.K628 A3 2020ISBN: 9781549304002Publication Date: 2019-05-28
Nepantla by
The first major literary anthology for queer poets of color in the United StatesIn 2014, Christopher Soto and Lambda Literary Foundation founded the online journal Nepantla, with the mission to nurture, celebrate, and preserve diversity within the queer poetry community, including contributions as diverse in style and form, as the experiences of QPOC in the United States. Now, Nepantla will appear for the first time in print as a survey of poetry by queer poets of color throughout U.S. history, including literary legends such as Audre Lorde, James Baldwin, June Jordan, Ai, and Pat Parker alongside contemporaries such as Natalie Diaz, Ocean Vuong, Danez Smith, Joshua Jennifer Espinoza, Robin Coste Lewis, Joy Harjo, Richard Blanco, Erika L. Sánchez, Jericho Brown, Carl Phillips, Tommy Pico, Eduardo C. Corral, Chen Chen, and more!
Call Number: SpCol PS591.G38 N472 2018ISBN: 9781937658786Publication Date: 2018-05-01
Our Work Is Everywhere by
Over the past ten years, we have witnessed the rise of queer and trans communities that have defied and challenged those who have historically opposed them. Through bold, symbolic imagery and surrealist, overlapping landscapes, queer illustrator and curator Syan Rose shines a light on the faces and voices of these diverse, amorphous, messy, real, and imagined queer and trans communities. In their own words, queer and trans organisers, artists, healers, comrades, and leaders speak honestly and authentically about their own experiences with power, love, pain, and magic to create a textured and nuanced portrait of queer and trans realities in America.
Call Number: SpCol HQ76.5 .R67 2021ISBN: 9781551528151Publication Date: 2021-04-06
Queer X Design by
The first-ever illustrated history of the iconic designs, symbols, and graphic art representing more than 5 decades of LGBTQ pride and activism. Beginning with pre-liberation and the years before the Stonewall uprising, spanning across the 1970s and 1980s and through to the new millennium, Queer X Design celebrates the inventive and subversive designs that have powered the resilient and ever-evolving LGBTQ movement. The diversity and inclusivity of these pages is as inspiring as it is important, both in terms of the objects represented as well as in the array of creators; from buttons worn to protest Anita Bryant, to the original 'The Future is Female' and 'Lavender Menace' t-shirt; from the logos of Pleasure Chest and GLAAD, to the poster for Cheryl Dunye's queer classic The Watermelon Woman; from Gilbert Baker's iconic rainbow flag, to the quite laments of the AIDS quilt and the impassioned rage conveyed in ACT-UP and Gran Fury ephemera. More than just an accessible history book, Queer X Design tells the story of queerness as something intangible, uplifting, and indestructible. Found among these pages is sorrow, loss, and struggle; an affective selection that queer designers and artists harnessed to bring about political and societal change. But here is also: joy, hope, love, and the enduring fight for free expression and representation. Queer X Design is the potent, inspiring, and colorful visual history of activism and pride.
Call Number: SpCol N8217.H67 C36 2019ISBN: 9780762467853Publication Date: 2019-05-07
Related Resources
- What is a Finding Aid?This page identifies every section of a finding aid. Much like a library book or article record, descriptive information in a finding helps researchers decide if content is relevant to their research topic.
Cataloging in part funded by the California State Library LGBTQ Grant.