Images of the Upton Sinclair Collection
Upton Sinclair on Time Magazine Cover
Cover of October 22, 1934 Time Magazine, showing Upton Sinclair during his unsuccessful campaign to become California's governor.
First edition cover of Sinclair's novel The Jungle
Upton Sinclair's most famous and influential novel, The Jungle, published in 1906.
Cover of I, Governor of California
Sinclair's campaign plan for the 1934 election, which he lost.
John Ahouse - Upton Sinclair Collection
John Ahouse-Upton Sinclair Collection, (1895-2014). This collection consists of materials by and about American writer and political figure Upton Sinclair collected by bibliographer John Ahouse, author of Upton Sinclair, A Descriptive Annotated Bibliography. The collection comprises several types of materials, including:
- Publications authored by Sinclair: books, pamphlets, newspaper and journal articles, circular letters, and manuscripts, as well a few personal letters.
- Publications edited by Sinclair: A Monthly Magazine, EPIC Newspapers, and the Upton Sinclair Quarterly Newsletters.
- Research material for Ahouse's book: subject files, academic or popular articles about Sinclair, audio and video recordings, and correspondence with and manuscripts by Sinclair biographers and scholars.
- Sinclair novels and books: approximately 400 copies of Sinclair works, comprising first- and later editions of novels and non-fiction, reprints, translations, and some graphic versions.
Upton Sinclair Books
The books of the John Ahouse - Upton Sinclair Collection include all the fiction and nonfiction books Sinclair wrote in his long career. Most of these were collected by John Ahouse while he was compiling Upton Sinclair, A Descriptive Annotated Bibliography. These books have been removed from the rest of the collection and placed in the Special Collections Rare Book Room while they are being cataloged. They include:
- Most first editions of the works, as well as multiple later editions
- Foreign printings
- Works in translation
Archives & Special Collections is continuing Ahouse's work by searching for and adding editions of Sinclair's books that were previously not recorded or could not be located. The 360-plus books of the collection currently cataloged are searchable in the University Library Online Catalog, using John Ahouse / Upton Sinclair Collection as the search term.