Looking for information on how to cite a book, journal article, newspaper or magazine article, or other printed material found in CSUDH archives collections?
Please consult the CSUDH Library Citation Guide.
We invite CSUDH students, faculty, staff, visiting researchers, and community members to explore primary sources in the Gerth Archives & Special Collections!
We are now accommodating in-person visitors Monday-Friday, 9:00am - 4:30pm.
LIB South 5039, 5th floor
Just like with printed material such as books and journal articles; using direct quotes or paraphrasing from archival material requires citations for sources. Please see the pages on how to cite archival material using MLA, APA, and Chicago citation styles for more examples.
Regardless of what style you are required to use for your research, all archival material citations will contain the following basic elements:
Title of the file or item. If material is untitled, provide a short description.
Name of the collection that the file or item being cited is a part of.
Online Archive of California: To find the collection number, open the finding aid on OAC. You can find the collection number located at the top next to “Collection Number.”
ArchivesSpace: If using the ArchivesSpace public database to search for a finding aid, the collection number is located at the top next to “Collection Identifier.”
The number of the box and folder where the material is physically stored.
The name of the archives and where it is geographically located.