Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citations for Archival Materials

This guide will detail how to cite archival material located in the CSUDH Archives for MLA, APA, and Chicago citation styles.

About APA Citation for Archival Material

Archives documents and collections are not included in the APA Publication Manual, Seventh Edition. Please consult the APA Style website for more details on standards and procedures. For more information on how to cite additional archival formats, consult the APA Style page on Archival Documents and Collections

Reference List Basic Format 

Author last name, First Initial. (year month day). Title [Description of material]. Name of collection (Collection number or identifier, Box number, Folder number). Name of repository, Location of repository. Retrieved from URL if applicable.

In-text Citation Basic Format

(Author's Last Name(s) or Organization, Year)

In-Text Citations and References

I'm citing a...

Reference

Terada, E. A. (1942, August 30). [Letter to Laura Thomas]. James H. Osborne Nisei Collection (SPC.2017.001, Box 1, Folder 3). Gerth Archives and Special Collections, California State University, Dominguez Hills, Carson, CA. http://digitalcollections.archives.csudh.edu/digital/collection/p16855coll4/id/9951/rec/1

In-Text Citation

Parenthetical citation: (Terada, 1942)

Narrative citation: Terada (1942)

Note: This letter does not have a title so a description is provided in brackets.

Reference

Example 1:

[Photograph of tradeswomen at a Century Freeway construction site]. Vivian Price Collection (SPC.2008.004). Gerth Archives and Special Collections, California State University, Dominguez Hills, Carson, CA. https://cdm16855.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/tradeswomen/id/408/rec/6

Note: This photograph does not have an author or date so those elements are skipped. The citation starts with a description in brackets because this photograph also does not have a title.

In-Text Citation

Parenthetical citation: ([Photograph of tradeswomen at a Century Freeway construction site], undated)

Narrative citation: [Photograph of tradeswomen at a Century Freeway construction site] (undated)

Example 2:

Ninomiya Photography Studio. (1950). [Photograph of Yasuko Nishida]. Ninomiya Studio Collection (nino_50-156_01). Gerth Archives and Special Collections, California State University, Dominguez Hills, Carson, CA. https://cdm16855.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/p16855coll4/id/14111/rec/40

In-Text Citation

Parenthetical citation: (Ninomiya Photography Studio, 1950)

Narrative citation: Ninomiya Photography Studio (1950)

Reference

Weatherwax, J. M. Red Shoes [typescript]. John M. Weatherwax Collection (SPC.2015.005, Box 2, Folder 5). Gerth Archives and Special Collections, California State University, Dominguez Hills, Carson, CA.

Note: Titles of archival documents are in italics. The use of square brackets here indicates information that is not on the document and describes the material type.

In-Text Citation

Parenthetical citation: (Weatherwax, undated)

Narrative citation: Weatherwax (undated)

Some examples of graphic material can include: cartoons, comics, prints, drawings, and broadsides.

Reference

[Painting of San Diego Presidio ruins]. (1874). Rancho San Pedro Collection (SPC. 1970.002, Box 244, Folder 7). Gerth Archives and Special Collections, California State University, Dominguez Hills, Carson, CA. http://digitalcollections.archives.csudh.edu/digital/collection/p16855coll3/id/1312/rec/3

Note: This letter does not have a title so a description is given in brackets. Because this painting does not have an author, the bracketed description moves to the author position of the citation.

In-Text Citation

Parenthetical citation: ([Painting of San Diego Presidio ruins], 1874)

Narrative citation: [Painting of San Diego Presidio ruins] (1874)

Some examples of ephemera can include: broadsides, postcards, and posters.

Reference

[Los Angeles Aviation Week postcard]. (ca.1910). 1910 Los Angeles International Aviation Meet Research collection (SPC.1996.001, Box 9, Item 241). Gerth Archives and Special Collections, California State University, Dominguez Hills, Carson, CA. https://cdm16855.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/p16855coll2/id/2752/rec/8

Note: This letter does not have a title so a description is given in brackets. Because this painting does not have an author, the bracketed description moves to the author position of the citation. The use of “ca.” indicates an estimated date.

In-Text Citation

Parenthetical citation: ([Los Angeles Aviation Week postcard], (ca.1910)

Narrative citation: [Los Angeles Aviation Week postcard] (ca.1910)

Citing a print or ebook, journal article, news/magazine article, book chapter, or web page? Consult the CSUDH Library APA Citation Guide.