Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LA as Subject Collection

The LA as Subject collection contains material from a selection of L.A. area community-based archives and organizations that were digitized and shared in partnership with CSUDH.

About the Collection

The LA as Subject Collection represents a cross section of materials from eight participating LA as Subject member sites, a mix of photographs, correspondence, audio recordings, publications, and physical objects that document the unique experiences that comprise the history of the Los Angeles area. 

About LA as Subject

L.A. as Subject is a research alliance dedicated to preserving and improving access to the archival material of Los Angeles history. Much of the city’s history is preserved in libraries, museums, and other cultural institutions. Other valuable and unique collections – those that reveal the stories of neighborhoods, families, and influential Angelenos – are scattered across Southern California, curated by smaller institutions and individual enthusiasts. With an online directory of more than 230 separate collections, L.A. as Subject ensures that researchers know what materials are available, where they are located, and how to access them.

About the Residency

The L.A. as Subject residency and training program was a collaborative effort by L.A. as Subject; Gerth Archives and Special Collections at California State University, Dominguez Hills (CSUDH); University Library at California State University, Northridge (CSUN); and the USC Libraries to train three recent MLIS graduates as well as staff and volunteers at 30 L.A. as Subject member archives in skills related to digital collections management and help to facilitate digital library projects by LAAS members for national digital platforms such as Calisphere and the Digital Public Library of America.

This project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services through grant RE-85-18-0110-18.

IMLS Logo