The Akwesasne Notes [publication] contains issues of Akwesasne Notes (Vol. 3, No.1- Vol. 19, No. 6. Contact repository for exact issues), a publication of the Traditional Mohawk Nation. Started by Ernest M. Kaientaronkwen Benedict- an educator, activist, and chief of the Mohawk Council in 1968; "Akwesasne Notes" became one of the largest newspapers dedicated to topics regarding Native Peoples and Native culture. Topics include: Native affairs in the Western Hemisphere; land rights; and social justice.
Ang Katipunan Collection contains issues of Ang Katipunan, the newspaper of the Katipunan ng mga Demokratikong Pilipino (KDP) [Union of Democratic Filipinos], as well as issues of Kalayaan International- a publication created by the Kalayaan Collective, a group who would go on to form KDP.
The Black Panther Newspapers contain over 400 newspaper issues from 1967 to 1980, organized by the Black Panther Party(BPP). The newspaper covers a variety of topics, from community to global events. It was also used to distribute information of the BPP's ideologies and their support for different groups fighting oppression.
The Bond: The Serviceman's Newspaper Collection contains 61 issues of "The Bond: The Servicemen's Newspaper", an American Servicemen's Union newspaper containing articles and letters written by servicemen. Topics relate to the antiwar movement, the Vietnam War, and American foreign policy.
California Eagle [publication] contains Vol. 21, issues 10-29 of the "California Eagle"(June 5, 1950-October 19, 1950), one of the oldest black-owned and operated newspapers in the United States during its run from 1979-1964. In its early days, the newspaper provided housing and job information for Black settlers transitioning to life on the West Coast. After Charlotta Bass took over the newspaper in 1912, she started directing the newspaper toward reporting on issues affecting Black and minortiy communities such as racial discrimination and segregation, and other social and political matters.
G.I Resistance Movement and Anti-War Newspaper Publications Collection (Vietnam Era) contains newspaper issues; flyers; newsletters; press releases; booklets; and other material pertaining to the anti-war movement during the Vietnam War. A majority of the documents in this collection are underground newspapers or newsletters that come from anti-war, student activist, veteran, and Armed Forces support organizations, and military bases located in the United States. This collection also includes publications created in the Heidelberg area of West Germany- the location of many U.S. military installations, and a few publications that were published on United States military bases located in Japan and the Philippines.
The Gidra Magazine Collection contains issues of Gidra, an monthly magazine published by Japanese-American students at UCLA between 1969 and 1974. Gidra covered issues such as racism; the anti-war movement; and other social justice issues in regards to the Asian American community around the UCLA campus and greater Los Angeles.Gidra also included art and poetry. Sixty issues of Gidra were published in its initial run.
The Guardian was established in 1948 by James Aronson, Cedric Belfrage, and John T. McManus, members of the Progressive Party, and originally called the publication the National Guardian. By the late 1960s, the older leadership of the paper found itself at odds with the younger, more leftist staff, and so in 1968 Aronson sold his shares of the paper to the staff, and the paper subsequently shortened its name to The Guardian. In the 1970s, the focus of the paper shifted from a general, leftist philosophy to a Marxist one, and aligned itself with the New Communist Movement. Due to financial difficulties, The Guardian ceased publication in 1992.The Guardian was published bi-weekly. This collection consists of issues from 1968 through 1992, and has nearly every issue published between May 1976 and August 1992.
The Los Angeles Tribune contains seven issues of the Los Angeles Tribune; a newspaper published in Los Angeles by civil rights activist, Almena Lomax. The newspaper ran from 1941-1960 and was published for African American residents of Los Angeles.
The Native American Publications Collection (1963-2012; undated) consists of over 100 different newspapers, newsletters, magazines, and other Indigenous publications from the United States and Canada. The publications in this collection represent both national and local communities; and contain news, events, elections, education, and other noteworthy and important issues that pertain to Indigenous peoples and tribes.
The Political Newspapers Collection consists of approximately thirty alternative and underground newspaper and journal titles whose primary focus is from an ethnic, leftist, socialist, or communist perspective. This collection also consists of other publications, leaflets, flyers, clippings, and articles relating to topics such as the anti-war movement, the Black movement, the labor movement, student movements, and other topics.
The Random Lengths News Collection contains clippings, notes, correspondence, photographs, half-tones, press releases, flyers, invoices, meeting minutes, reports, published newspaper issues, and other material generated by Random Lengths News.
The Right-wing and Conservative Publications Collection contains newsletters, newspapers, bulletins, magazines, and other publications generated by right-wing organizations and individuals. Material in this collection includes information regarding topics such as right-wing politics, religion, anti-communist activities, conservatism, antifeminism, segregation, political extremism, and racism. Publications in this collection include: "Common Sense: The Nation's Anti-Communist Newspaper", "Dan Smoot Report", "Moral Majority Report", "American Opinion", "Phyllis Schlafly Report", "The Citizen", and others.
The South Bay Newspaper Collection collection contains bound volumes of the following South Bay newspapers, "Compton Herald," "Compton Herald American," "Compton Journal," "Compton News Tribune," "Dominguez News," "Harbor Mail," and "Wilmington Daily Press Journal." Included on microfilm are the "Compton Enterprise" and "Compton News Tribune."