Political Collections

This collection contains books, pamphlets, magazine issues, flyers, and other material related to the opposition of economic programs and policies called "The New Deal" that were introduced by President Franklin D. Roosevelt during the Great Depression.

This collection comprises papers related to the long political career of Glenn M. Anderson, who served in California as mayor of the city of Hawthorne, as State Assemblyman, and as Lieutenant Governor, then represented the state in the House of Representatives. The wide-ranging collection contains legislation, reports, correspondence, scrapbooks, newsletters, audio-visual material, and other items recording Anderson’s deep involvement in the political issues facing California and the United States, and his work with many of the major political figures of the twentieth century, including Ronald Reagan, Richard Nixon, Adlai Stevens, Edmund G. “Pat” Brown, and others.

Various issues of political newsletter, "I.F. Stone's Weekly", Vol. 2-19. Topics featured include but are not limited to: McCarthyism, the Cold War, unions, race discrimination, communism, and the Vietnam War.

This collection documents John Weatherwax's career as a writer, journalist, publisher, union activist and political activist. It includes correspondence; Weatherwax genealogy; Weatherwax financial information mostly regarding Aberdeen, WA.; film treatments; several novella typescripts; short stories; and other writing. Topics include: the American Committee for the Protection of the Foreign Born; California Politics; Socialist Labor Party; anti-war materials; and many other materials focused on civil liberties, constitutional rights, African Americans, the Chicano movement, the United Nations, Marxism, and many flyers relating to political and labor events in Los Angeles and elsewhere.

This collection includes: correspondence, newsletters, press releases, speeches, reports, flyers, questionnaires, bills and amendments, greeting cards, newspaper clippings, and ephemera including photos, plaques and video tapes belonging to Millender-McDonald an educator, civic leader, and congresswoman who championed women’s and minority issues, human rights, and education. A large number of files are devoted to the Congressional Black Caucus, Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, the Congressional Caucus on Women’s issues, California Assembly, and House Administration.

This collection contains press releases, pamphlets, legal filings, campaign literature, lists of expenditures and receipts, internal campaign committee literature, endorsements, correspondence, and other papers about the 1933 and 1934 judicial campigns of Leo Gallagher from the personal collection of his campaign manager, John Weatherwax.

This collection includes pamphlets, leaflets, flyers, and ephemera related to May Day events from 1937-1981. Subjects include May Day events and the history of May Day.

This collection consists of approximately thirty alternative and underground newspaper and journal titles whose primary focus is from an ethnic, leftist, socialist, or communist perspective. This collection also consists of other publications, leaflets, flyers, clippings, and articles relating to topics such as the anti-war movement, the Black movement, the labor movement, student movements, and other topics.

This collection contains newsletters, newspapers, bulletins, magazines, and other publications generated by right-wing organizations and individuals. Material in this collection includes information regarding topics such as right-wing politics, religion, anti-communist activities, conservatism, antifeminism, and racism. Publications in this collection include: "Common Sense: The Nation's Anti-Communist Newspaper", "Dan Smoot Report", "Moral Majority Report","American Opinion", "Phyllis Schlafly Report", and others.

This collection contains primarily legislative bills, constituent correspondence, awards, articles, plaques, videos, and photographs detailing Furutani’s four year service as a member of the California Assembly for the 55th District.

This collection contains flyers, pamphlets, booklets, and other papers about the Julius and Ethel Rosenberg case from the personal collection of John Weatherwax. Most of the materials in this collection are flyers for events supporting the Rosenbergs and informational flyers and pamphlets attempting to rally popular support for clemency.