Skip to main content

Women's History Collections at CSUDH

Collections in this guide contain material that relates to women's history.

Topic: Women's History Collections

Diaries, letters, autograph books, scrapbooks, and photo albums were among the private spaces available to women in the first half of the 20th century. The CSUDH Archives & Special Collections has several diaries and other material that focus on the lives of women, their families, and their jobs.

  • The Sidney A. Ball Policewoman Daily Calendars Collection (1934-1955) contains seven daily diaries kept by Sidney A. Ball, a Los Angeles Policewoman from 1929-1965, making her one of the first policewomen on the force. Entries within these calendars include: brief summaries of interactions and observations from Ball’s time as a policewoman as well as a record of addresses; birthdays; lunch and dinner engagements; and outings in the Los Angeles area, as well as trips to Canada and other parts of the United States. Also notated are comments and notes from possible courses Ball took regarding leadership, child development, and education.
  • The Lynch Family Letters Collection (1926-1980) consists primarily of the personal letters of Dorothy Lynch to her older sister, Faye Bell. The letters chronicle the lives of Dorothy Lynch and of her immediate family in Long Beach, California from 1926 to 1980. Along with correspondence, the collection also contains photographs and newspaper clippings.
  • The Tazu Kawamoto Photo Album (1939-1943) contains one album of mostly photographs compiled by Tazuko "Tazu" Kawamoto that document various people, events, and activities. Included are photographs, flyers, invitations, and business cards relating to Tazu Kawamoto’s personal life, with a focus on events during the World’s Fair on San Francisco’s Treasure Island in 1939. This collection also has photographs most likely taken inside the Gila River incarceration camp in Arizona.
  • The Emma Smith Diaries (1935-1967) comprises 23 diaries of Emma Lena Smith. These diaries reflect upon the daily life of a housewife from California's Central Valley, her small-town husband, other family members and neighbors as they go about their day-to-day life of work, church and community events. Emma posts daily information about the weather, her role of taking care of the house, which includes canning fruits and vegetables and Andrew's various jobs, such as farming his own land, working at the city plant and working odd jobs for pay or in exchange for goods or services.

Other collections featuring material created by women:

  • From the Glenn Dumke Papers:  Dorothy Robison Dumke Scrapbooks & Diaries; Ina Lee Freer (Robison) Autograph Book; and the Marjorie Schroeder Diary.
  • Other collections on related topics include the various Tradeswomen Collections, many Japanese American collections located at: http://www.csujad.com, the Alfred and Bernice Ligon Aquarian Collection, and the Sacred Music Collection.

Images from collections about Women's History

scrapbook pages

Dorothy Robinson Dumke Scrapbook page from the Glenn S. Dumke Papers

letters and greeting cards on a library cart

Lynch Family Letters

black and white photographs on a black scrapbook page

Tazu Kawamoto Photo Album

calendar books on a library cart

Sydney Ball Policewoman Calendars

page from Dorothy Dumke scrapbook

Dorothy Robinson Dumke scrapbok page from the Glenn S. Dumke Papers