Each collection is assigned a collection code. It would be ideal if a collection code is unique among all digital collections available at the Gerth Archives and Special Collections or among a digital project where the collection is being added. A collection code can be an abbreviation for its collection name or any forms, including numerical numbers and/or combination of numbers and letters, that can be logically assigned and serve sufficiently.
A file name of a digital object indicates the location where the corresponding physical item is stored. A standard file name consists of the following elements:
"Collection Code"_"Box Number"_"Folder Number"_"Item Number_Page Number"
Avoid special characters and symbols: Period, Slash, Backslash, Colon, Asterisk, Question mark, Quotation marks, Angle brackets, Pipe, Squire brackets, Ampersand, Dollar sign, At sign, etc.
. \ / : * ? " <> | [] & $ @
If a file name is too long, you may not be able to access it or a server may not be able to back it up. Limiting to 32 characters or less would be preferable.
Use 2 or more digits for sequential numbering.
scgf_01_03_001 (not scgf_1_3_1)
One period, "." before the file extension.
scgf_01_03_001.pdf (not scgf_01_03_001..pdf)
To avoid conflict, assign a unique file name.
Collection Code_Box Number_Folder Number_Item Number_01 [Front];_02 [Back]
Collection Code_Box Number_Binder Divider Number_Item Number_01 [Front];_02 [Back]
Collection Code_Box Number_Binder Divider Number_Item Number_01 [Front];_02 [Back]
Collection Code_Box Number_Item Number_Item Page Number
Collection Code_Box Number_Folder Number_Item Number_Item Page Number_Item Number
Collection Code_Box Number_Folder Number_Item Number_Item Page Number