This collection contains over 400 newspaper issues from 1967 to 1980, organized by the Black Panther Party(BPP). The newspaper covers a variety of topics, from community to global events. It was also used to distribute information of the BPP's ideologies and their support for different groups fighting oppression.
The Black Panther Publications and Related Articles Collection (1965-1986, 1991, 1995; undated) contains 3.24 linear feet of material mostly related to the Black Panther Party and its members. Series One contains materials directly written, published, and distributed by the Black Panther Party. It contains insight into their ideology and other important matters at the time. Series Two contains materials directly written by Eldridge Cleaver and Huey P. Newton, two central figures of the Black Panther Party. Also included is an interview of Huey P. Newton. Series Three contains material published by outside sources, but directly related to actions and ideas of the Black Panther Party. Magazines and newspapers in this series are not entirely related to the Black Panthers, but do explicitly mention the Party or its members. Series Four contains material from outside sources and in the majority of the materials, there is no explicit mention of the Black Panther Party or its members. However, it is clear that the material is inspired by the ideology and tactics of the Black Panther Party to push for the rights of several other groups.
This collection contains flyers, leaflets, broadsides, magazines, and other documents related to civil rights activism. Included are flyers regarding activist Angelo Herndon; an event aimed at Los Angeles' Latinx voters; Delegates National Assembly for Peace, Washington D.C. April 1, 1952; a reprint of the address Rev. Edward D. McGowan of the National Committee to Defend Negro Leadership delivered before the National Fraternal Council of Churches; a Filmore Club Communist Party flyer; material related to the Free Angela Davis movement; and others. Also included are pamphlets, magazine issues, brochures, and other publications generated by organizations advocating for civil rights and promoting racial equality such as: "The Southern Letter", published by the Tuskegee Normal and Industrial Institute; Bureau of Propaganda Investigation of the Non Sectarian Anti Nazi League to Champion Human Rights; "Motive" a magazine of the Methodist student movement; Southern Regional Council; International Labor Defense; National Negro Congress; League for Non-Violent Civil Disobedience Against Military Segregation; Committee Against Jim Crow in Military Service and Training; Civil Rights Congress; "Negro History Bulletin"; and others. This collection is arranged chronologically.
The Congress of Racial Equality (CORE) San Francisco Chapter Papers (1964-1965; undated) contains 22 documents mostly related to activities of the San Francisco Chapter of CORE. A majority of the documents are in regards to an agreement between Community Dry Goods Relation Association and CORE, and CORE's belief that the terms of the agreement were not met due to discriminatory hiring practices; board meeting minutes and agendas; and a listing of some of CORE's activities from 1962-1965. Also included are documents regarding the Citizens United Against Poverty (CUAP) request for a meeting with Mayor Shelley; two essays entitled "American Slave Revolts" and "The Haitian Revolutions" by Nancy Lamberson; and other documents.
This collection contains eight black-and-white press photographs taken of Malcolm X at various events, as well as images taken of him at the [L.A.] courthouse, in front of his home after it was firebombed, and an image of him taken on a stretcher after he was assassinated.
The Selma, Alabama Civil Rights Movement Collection contains six flyers and one pamphlet regarding voter registration and rights for African Americans; and civil rights events that took place in Selma, Alabama prior to the Selma-to-Montgomery marches in 1965. Material in this collection was produced and distributed mostly by Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC), and Dallas County Voters League (DCVL).
This collection includes publications, organizational documents, correspondence, pamphlets, interviews, and other material related to the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, the Los Angeles branch of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, and Jamil Abdullah al-Amin, formally known as H. Rap Brown.
This collection is comprised of materials generated by Watts Labor Community Action Committee (WLCAC). The Watts Labor Community Action Committee formed in 1965 prior to the Los Angeles (Watts) Riots of 1965 in an effort spearheaded by Ted Watkins, Sr. and supported by local labor unions, most notably, the United Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural Implement Workers of America (UAW). Their purpose was to create and provide programs and services that serve the needs of the under-served, predominantly African American residents of the Watts and Greater Watts communities. In this collection are organizational documents, minutes, correspondence, memoranda, reports, program proposals, drafts/notes, ephemera, publications, newspaper clippings and photographs. The materials gathered here chiefly represent the organization's activities from the mid- to late-1960s, early 1970s and the early- to mid-1990s.
This collection contains material related to the Watts Rebellion, the Watts neighborhood, Los Angeles during 1965, the 1992 Los Angeles riots, and also includes material regarding race, rioting, civil rights, activism, and poverty. A majority of this collection consists of newspaper and magazine articles; and also includes photographs, reports, and other material.
This collection contains magazines, articles, newspaper clippings, theater programs, flyers, pamphlets, vinyl records, t-shirts, and other material regarding Chicano history. A majority of the material relates to topics such as the Zoot Suit riots; education; the East LA High School Walkouts of 1968; immigration; politics; and other areas of activism regarding the Chicano movement. Some of the material in this collection were featured as part of the Gerth Archives and Special Collections 2018 exhibit entitled "¡Adelante! Latinx Activism in California".
This collection contains flyers, a luncheon program, newsletters, newspapers, photographs, and other material relating to the Long Beach Chapter of the National Organization for Women (N.O.W.). Also included are materials related to Carol McCafferty, a member of N.O.W., such as a short biography, notes, and documents regarding the Paramount Unified School District; and material related to the "Safe Streets NOW" program including a community action guide, clippings, and other documents.
The collection includes materials related to the Women's Suffrage Movement. Pamphlets, surveys, magazines, a speech, an essay, a flyer, a letter, an article as well as a short story document the struggles and efforts made in order for women to win the right to vote in early twentieth century United States.
The Holt Labor Library pamphlet and subject file collection, contains pamphlet and subject files collected by the Holt Labor Library concerning: anarchism; communism; Marxism; socialism; anti-war and peace movements; activities and topics within the arts and sciences, economics, education, and government; various civil rights and social justice movements; the history of various geographic areas; the history of the labor movement and labor union organizing; the Soviet Union and the Russian Revolution; Trotskyism.
Holt Labor Library periodical collection
The Holt Labor Library periodical collection, includes radical and political periodicals collected by the Holt Labor Library, including the AFL-CIO News, Barricada, The Militant, The Communist, Dissent, International Socialist Review, International Viewpoint, The Liberator, and Monthly Review. This collection is in process and a collection guide will be available soon.
The Berta Green Langston papers, 1958-2005, includes the personal and professional papers of Berta Green Langston, an active member of the Socialist Workers Party and Socialist Action who was involved in various protest movements during the 20th century. It includes newsletters, newspaper articles, miscellaneous writings, and correspondence with James Baldwin, Robert F. Williams, Albert Perry, Dave Dellinger, William Worthy, Pete Seeger, and Noam Chomsky, among others.
The Marjorie and Paul Colvin papers, 1957-1991, contains the personal and professional papers of Marjorie and Paul Colvin, members of the Socialist Workers Party and political activists who protested against the Vietnam war and other U.S. interventions during the 1960's and 1970's. It includes meeting notes, flyers, correspondence, and newspaper clippings related to the various organizations and movements they were involved with.
The William and Beatrice Eisman papers, 1964-2005, contains the personal and professional papers of William and Beatrice Eisman, political activists who founded the U.S. / Vietnam Friendship Committee in 1979, which aimed to normalize relations between the U.S. and Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos. It includes correspondence, newsletters, press releases, articles, publications, and videocassettes.
The Thomas F. Barton papers, 1964-2015, bulk 2003-2005, includes the personal and professional papers of Thomas F. Barton, an anti-war activist and socialist who organized soldiers against the Vietnam and Iraq wars. It includes newsletters, articles, correspondence, meeting minutes and agendas that document Barton's involvement with various anti-war and socialist organizations, and the distribution, founding, and publishing of various anti-war newsletters.
The Asher Harer papers, , 1932-2000, undated, comprises the papers of Asher Harer, a member of the Socialist Workers Party and Socialist Action, as well as a trade unionist and anti-Vietnam War activist. It includes correspondence, photographs, reports, resolutions, minutes, notes, study guides, flyers, newsletters, leaflets, newspapers and newspaper clippings, and scrapbooks.
The Nelson Blackstock papers, 1963-2006, undated, comprises the papers of Nelson Blackstock, a former Civil Rights activist who as involved with the Southern Student Organizing Committee (SSOC), the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and various other student-led political organizations in Atlanta, Georgia during the 1960s Civil Rights Movement. He was also a journalist and editor who was at one time a managing editor of The Militant. The collection includes newspaper clippings, conference agendas, minutes, reports and resolutions, newsletters, flyers, and notes and manuscripts for political lectures.
This collection includes correspondence, media, publications, photographs, manuscripts, documents, and other materials related to Aiko Herzig Yoshinaga's life and work related to activism and social justice. Subjects in the collection include Redress and Reparations, the Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment of Civilians, Japanese American incarceration, and Aiko's personal life.
The CSUJAD project includes collections from 17 California State University campuses as well as a wide variety of other institutions, including the Japanese American National Museum, California Historical Society and others.
DescriptionThis collection includes flyers, newspaper clippings, organizational documents, press releases, issues of "Banner," digitized photographs, and other material related to the Nikkei for Civil Rights and Redress (NCRR), formally known as the National Coalition for Redress and Reparations. It also includes material related to the Little Tokyo People's Rights Organization (LTPRO), Japanese Americans, and Japanese American redress. This collection contains some digitized material.
This collection includes flyers, newspaper clippings, organizational documents, agendas, publications, books, and other materials related to the Nikkei for Civil Rights and Redress (NCRR) organization, formally known as the National Coalition for Redress and Reparations, and one of its founding members, Jim Matsuoka. It also includes material related to the Little Tokyo People's Rights Organization (LTPRO), Japanese Americans, Japanese Latin Americans, Little Tokyo, and incarceration camps.
This collection includes flyers, pamphlets, meeting notes, press releases, correspondence, Rafu Shimpo newspaper clippings, posters, and event scripts for the Day of Remembrance events (DOR) organized by the Nikkei for Civil Rights and Redress (NCRR), formally known as the National Coalition for Redress and Reparations. It also includes materials related to Japanese Americans, Japanese Latin Americans, Little Tokyo, incarceration camps, Mexican Americans, and Muslim Americans.
This collection includes material from one of the co-founders of the Nikkei for Civil Rights and Redress, Roy Nakano. It contains correspondence, flyers, programs, articles, and meeting minutes related to the Gardena Chapter and Los Angeles Chapter of the organization, which was formally known as the National Coalition for Redress/Reparations. The collection also includes event information for a reception to honor Fred Korematsu, and screening information for Steve Okazaki's film, Unfinished Business (Three who Fought the Internment of Japanese-Americans).
The American Leftist Organization and Labor Unions Stamps and Ephemera Collection contains stamps, stickers, labels, cards, and other ephemera produced by socialist and communist organizations and labor unions in the United States, 1890-1940. The bulk of the materials in this collection are stamps from fundraising, boycott, and strike actions. Highlights include stamps and campaign cards from the International Workers of the World, "Save the Scottsboro Boys" fundraising stamps from the International Labor Defense, stamps and ephemera from the Continental Congress of Workers and Farmers, and stamps from the International Workers Order.
The Guardian was established in 1948 by James Aronson, Cedric Belfrage, and John T. McManus, members of the Progressive Party, and originally called the publication the National Guardian. By the late 1960s, the older leadership of the paper found itself at odds with the younger, more leftist staff, and so in 1968 Aronson sold his shares of the paper to the staff, and the paper subsequently shortened its name to The Guardian. In the 1970s, the focus of the paper shifted from a general, leftist philosophy to a Marxist one, and aligned itself with the New Communist Movement. Due to financial difficulties, The Guardian ceased publication in 1992.The Guardian was published bi-weekly. This collection consists of issues from 1968 through 1992, and has nearly every issue published between May 1976 and August 1992.
This collection consists of 400 books, 12 linear feet of archival items and resource material about Upton Sinclair collected by bibliographer John Ahouse, author of Upton Sinclair, A Descriptive Annotated Bibliography . Included are Upton Sinclair books, pamphlets, newspaper articles, publications, circular letters, manuscripts, and a few personal letters. Also included are a wide variety of subject files, scholarly or popular articles about Sinclair, videos, recordings, and manuscripts for Sinclair biographies. Included are Upton Sinclair’s A Monthly Magazine, EPIC Newspapers and the Upton Sinclair Quarterly Newsletters.
This collection contains material collected and written by John M. Weatherwax such as correspondence, manuscripts, essays, film treatments, research notes, pamphlets, leaflets, flyers, programs, mailers, and other documents. Material authored by Weatherwax includes drafts of manuscripts, essays, novellas, articles, radio transcripts, and film treatments; as well as notes, revisions, and related research material. Collected material is from organizations such as American Committee for Protection of Foreign Born, National Federation for Constitutional Liberties, Los Angeles Committee to Secure Justice for the Rosenbergs, Alameda County Labor Party, Communist Party of Los Angeles, Socialist Labor Party, and other organizations, groups, and publications focused on sociopolitical issues. Topics include: socialism, marxism, labor, communism, fascism, McCarthyism, the Red Scare, war, political campaigns and elections, and others.
This collection consists of approximately thirty alternative and underground newspaper and journal titles whose primary focus is from an ethnic, leftist, socialist, or communist perspective. This collection also consists of other publications, leaflets, flyers, clippings, and articles relating to topics such as the anti-war movement, the Black movement, the labor movement, student movements, and other topics.
This collection contains oral history interviews of lesbians discussing their lives and includes discussions regarding childhood, careers, coming out, lesbian relationships, family, hobbies, education, and other topics.
This collection consists of magazines, journals, and other material devoted to the gay and lesbian community. Most of the material in this collection was published by or affiliated with ONE, Inc. and includes short stories, poetry, book reviews, news articles, editorials, scholarly articles, images, artwork, and cartoons.
The Transgender Resources Collection contains flyers, programs, informational resources, and a zine regarding support groups, organizations, and events by and for transgender people; as well as material related to topics such as healthcare and gender identity. The collection contains documents from the San Francisco Transgender Film Festival, Youth Gender Project, National LGBTQ Task Force, Fantasia Fair, Transexual Menace, and others.
This collection contains books, pamphlets, magazine issues, flyers, and other material related to the opposition of economic programs and policies introduced by President Franklin D. Roosevelt during the Great Depression. Called "The New Deal", the purpose of these programs was to provide relief for the unemployed and poor; recovery of the economy; and reform of the financial system in areas such as banking reform laws, emergency relief, work relief, union protection, and agriculture.
The Right-wing and Conservative Publications Collection contains newsletters, newspapers, bulletins, magazines, and other publications generated by right-wing organizations and individuals. Material in this collection includes information regarding topics such as right-wing politics, religion, anti-communist activities, conservatism, antifeminism, segregation, political extremism, and racism. Publications in this collection include: "Common Sense: The Nation's Anti-Communist Newspaper", "Dan Smoot Report", "Moral Majority Report","American Opinion", "Phyllis Schlafly Report", "The Citizen", and others.
This page identifies every section of a finding aid. Much like a library book or article record, descriptive information in a finding helps researchers decide if content is relevant to their research topic.