1. Identify or assign a Records Custodian to survey and inventory your records
2. Review the Institutional Records Retention Schedule to understand what you should keep and what should be transferred to the University Archives
3. View the Core Administrative Records Guide to identify the types of records collected by the University Archives
4. Utilize the Appraisal Guides to systemically assess your records for your own retention and for transfer
5. Create a Records Inventory
6. Complete the Record Transfer Form
7. Schedule a meeting with the Archivist to set up physical box delivery/pickup or to transfer digital materials electronically or in person
If you have questions or concerns about getting started, contact Amalia Castañeda, University Archivist for a consultation: acastaneda@csudh.edu.
The first step is to identify the Records Custodian within your department. Per the CSU Records Retention Schedule, the Custodian is the campus-designated department head who maintains the official/original copy of the record/information.
If your department does not have a designated Custodian, it is at the discretion of your department to designate one. The University Archives will then work with and/or train this employee to ensure they can confidently organize the unit's records for transfer.
The California State University (CSU) Records Retention Schedule defines the period of time that records should be retained and when they should be destroyed.
As University offices and administrative units, you will use the "Institutional Records" Retention Schedule to guide you in determining which records should be kept long term in your office, which should be transferred to the University Archives and which should be destroyed. Only those materials checked off as "H- historical" are eligible for transfer to the University Archives.
Various requirements based in law and university policy govern the retention of administrative records. The 2008 CSU executive order (EO 1031) provides for the implementation of the California State University (CSU) Systemwide Records/Information Retention Schedules. It is issued under the authority of Section II of the Standing Orders of the Board of Trustees, related policies adopted by the Board of Trustees, and Education Code section 89043. The objective of this executive order is to ensure compliance with legal and regulatory requirements while implementing appropriate operational best practices.
The following list provides guidance to those assessing the content of collections and selecting items for transfer to and retention in the University Archives. These records should be inactive and have enduring administrative, legal, historical or research value and may be collected in any format deemed acceptable.
This section is meant to give you an overview of review/appraisal process. The Archivist will assist you in appraising your records in accordance with the CSU Records Retention Schedule and the Gerth Archives Collection Development Policy.
Appraisal is the process of determining whether records and other materials have permanent (archival) value. Once the archivist or records manager assesses that the records are of long term value to the institution, they are formally accessioned.
Key Considerations Archivists Make in Appraisal Decisions:
An inventory is an extensive list of all the content you intent to donate. Download the template and complete as thoroughly as possible. If you have questions about how to create an inventory or are not sure which materials to include, contact the Archivist for appraisal assistance.
1. Email University Archivist, Amalia Castañeda (acastaneda@csudh.edu) to let us know that you would like to transfer records and to discuss whether the records you wish to transfer are permanent historical records. The University Archives accepts only records that document the permanent historical record of the University. The University Archives accepts paper documents, audio-visual materials, photographs, and digital records.
2. Review the Gerth Archives Records Transfer Policy. Submit a Transfer Form. If you are transferring paper records and your transfer contains more than one box, complete and attach an inventory form to the Transfer Form. When completing the transfer form for digital records, be sure to complete the Technical Information section as well.
3. Read the instructions to transfer paper records or the instructions to transfer digital records.
4. If you have any questions or need further assistance, please contact Amalia Castañeda, acastaneda@csudh.edu.
You can either schedule a delivery/pick up or meet with the Archivist to finalize transfer. After sending your materials to the University Archives, personnel will check the contents against your existing inventory list for accuracy. All files will be removed to acid free folders and boxes. A guide to the collection (a finding aid) will be created and made available.
Please note that the University Archives publicizes its resources to encourage use by members of the institution and the scholarly community to support the curriculum, stimulate teaching, and promote research, scholarship and intellectual exploration.