John M. Weatherwax Collection, 1905-1958, comprises materials related to discrimination against foreign-born and leftist individuals during the Great Depression, World War Two, and the Red Scare and McCarthy eras, as well as the civil rights and peace movements, communism, elections in Los Angeles and California, fascism, and the political activities of labor unions. Browse Digitzed Materials.
Funding for the digitization of these materials was provided by the California State Library’s California Civil Liberties Public Education Program and is part of the 2020-2022 grant entitled: “California State University Japanese American Digitization Project: Civil Liberties in California--Parallels Between Post-Pearl Harbor Xenophobia & the Red Scare.”
Black Panthers Newspapers, 1967-1980, contains over 400 newspaper issues from 1967 to 1980, organized by the Black Panther Party(BPP). The newspaper covers a variety of topics, from community to global events. It was also used to distribute information of the BPP's ideologies and their support for different groups fighting oppression.
This digital exhibition traces the roots of the Black Power movement through images of various newspapers, letters, flyers, pamphlets, and other materials created by or regarding the Black Panther Party, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), the Committee to Aid the Monroe Defendants, and the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE). Materials come from the Holt Labor Library Periodical Collection, HLL.2019.037; the Nelson Blackstock papers, HLL.2019.016; and the Berta Green Langston papers, HLL.2019.002, which are part of the Holt Labor Library Collection at the Gerth Archives and Special Collections, California State University, Dominguez Hills.
A physical exhibition, comprising facsimiles of digitized materials, was on view at Page Against the Machine bookstore in Long Beach, California from February-June 2021. Both the digital and physical exhibition were curated by Holt Labor Library Project Archivist Allison Ransom.
A volunteer run website providing access to a wide array of Marxist and Leftist writings, including publications, pamphlets, and biographies.
A number of items in the Holt Labor Library collection have been digitized through a collaboration between the library and the Riazanov Library Project and are hosted on the Marxists Internet Archive.