The CSUDH Gerth Archives and Special Collections Internship Program provides learning opportunities and hands-on training for students interested in receiving course credit through an archives related project.
Internship projects can include, but are not limited to:
We highly encourage applications from CSUDH students interested in exploring careers in libraries and archives.
Note: Internships are only available for those students seeking formal course credit. Please see the Volunteer section for non-credit bearing opportunities.
Internship Agreement: The program is a partnership between the student intern, their CSUDH academic department and the Gerth Archives. Students will work with the archivist/intern supervisor and department faculty to determine the project scope and create learning outcomes/educational objectives. Students should consult with their departmental faculty to receive approval for a final project/deliverable.
Onsite Agreement: Interns are supervised at the Gerth Archives by their assigned supervisor. The onsite intern supervisor will meet regularly with intern to offer mentorship, answer questions, and provide feedback on work.
Note: Remote internships may not be available every semester.
Communication: Regular contact between the intern’s faculty supervisor, the intern, and the onsite supervisor will be maintained during the internship. When possible, the Gerth archives will provide student interns with opportunities to share their experiences with archives or library personnel or other audiences.
Evaluation: Evaluation methods and procedures will be defined at the outset of the internship. Interns will have the opportunity to discuss their performance and experiences with their archivist supervisor at the end of the internship. After completion of an internship, both students and onsite internship supervisors evaluate the internship experience to identify areas for future improvement.
Currently enrolled undergraduate and graduate students of all majors/areas of study are eligible to apply. Please submit your application to archives@csudh.edu and cc Internship Coordinator, Thomas Philo, tphilo@csudh.edu and Director, Greg Williams, gwilliams@csudh.edu.
Applications are accepted on a limited basis every Fall, Spring and Summer.
Deadlines for CSUDH Students
Preferred Fall Deadline: April 1st
Preferred Spring Deadline: November 1st
Summer Deadline: April 15th
Deadlines for MLIS Students
Preferred Fall Deadline: July 15th
Preferred Spring Deadline: November 1st
Summer Deadline: April 1st