The Gerth Archives and Special Collections provides opportunities for CSUDH students to gain hands-on experience working in an archives and special collections setting.
Under the direct supervision of CSUDH archivists, student assistants receive training in archival processing, digitization and reference. In addition to learning fundamental task like retrieving and re-shelving, scanning, data entry and sorting students may also have the opportunity to assist archivists in curation of archival exhibitions.
Student Assistant job applications must be submitted directly through Handshake.
Please include a brief cover letter and resume in addition to the application. In your cover letter, please tell us about your academic interests, career goals and why you are interested in working in the Gerth Archives. Previous library experience is not required.
Applications are generally accepted before Fall semester and occasionally prior to the Spring semester.
Past and current assistants come from a range of interdisciplinary academic backgrounds. Past student assistants have gone on to intern and work at a range of local and national museums, libraries, and cultural heritage institutions.
Current student assistants are working on projects across the various subject areas in the Gerth Archives including processing Presidential Records of the University Archives and the papers of Paul T Bannai, a local leader of the Japanese American community.
Shanice Williams - Political Science
Jorge Castro - Computer Technology