The CSUDH Gerth Archives and Special Collections Volunteer Program provides an educational opportunity for students under the mentorship and supervision of experienced archivists. The program is designed for students interested in exploring careers in archives and special collections librarianship, but not seeking formal course credit. We especially welcome applications from CSUDH students who want to learn more about careers in libraries and archives. No previous library experience is necessary.
In order to allow CSUDH Archivists to train, support, and guide trainee through completion of a project, volunteers should commit to at least 8 weeks for a minimum of 4-6 hours per week.
Volunteer projects include:
The program adheres to the Society of American Archivists (SAA) Best Practices for Volunteers in Archives and recommendations from the SCA Labor Issues Task Force Final Report. The Volunteer Program is committed to supporting student learning and student success. Volunteers do not replace professional staff. Work performed by volunteers is educational and provides students and trainees with hands-on experience to help them acquire skills and experience necessary to pursue professional opportunities in the archival profession.
Applications are accepted on a limited basis for Fall, Spring and Summer.
To help us match you with an Archivist and project that meets your skills and interests, please submit a resume and a cover letter addressing the following:
1) Tell us about your academic interests and career goals.
2) Tell us why you are interested in working on an archival project at the CSUDH Gerth Archives and Special Collections.
To apply, please download the Volunteer Form below and submit along with a resume and cover letter to email@example.com. Please copy (cc) Internship Coordinator, Thomas Philo, firstname.lastname@example.org and Archives Director, Greg Williams, email@example.com.